Actscelerate.com Forum Index Actscelerate.com
Open Any Time -- Day or Night

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
r/Actscelerate

Turning a funeral into a memorial service

Actscelerate.com Forum Index -> Acts-Celerate Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Message Author
Post Turning a funeral into a memorial service doyle
My wife Linda once told me, “Doyle, you do excellent funerals.” Though it was a compliment, I found it rather odd. Obviously, as a pastor, I wanted to lead a memorial service that would be meaningful to the family and friends of the deceased.

Though Linda is quick to give a compliment if she really feels it is true, she is not one given to flattery. She does not throw out compliments just to please people or somehow get her way with them.

She shared that though she was not sure why, the services I conducted had a “more personal feel to them.” That sparked my interest. I began to observe what I did differently than other ministers when conducting a funeral service. There was no goal or intent of any kind to elevate what I was doing above others.

I began to notice that in many funerals, the deceased is hardly mentioned. Sure, the minister may read some info from a card the funeral home has prepared for him or her. Information that tells the name of the deceased and some on the “survived by” list. After that, many ministers say little else about the deceased. Instead, the time is spent in preaching a sermon.